Washington Monument

Washington Monument

Yesterday morning, I went for a run across the Memorial Bridge and to the Washington Monument and the White House (see the basic route here).  We had some great summertime weather that’s quickly changed to something more spring-like:  60s and showers.

My morning was a combination run/commute to work.  The plethora of running/biking trails and office showers and gyms in the DC area (including VA) makes a double-tasking commute like this possible.  As an economist, I find transportation costs  (in economic terms, measured as what I could do in the time it takes me to drive somewhere or take the metro to my destination) inefficient, so I was pretty ecstatic when I discovered how easy it was for me to run or bike to (and from) the office.

If you’re so lucky to be able to combine a workout/commute, you should definitely try it.  It’s energizing totally awesome to run through DC and see the sites all while on your way to work.  How lucky we are to be surrounded by these attractions that people travel hundreds of miles to see!  Even when my morning run is less monumental (haha… pun.), I still appreciate experiencing the world and nature before sitting down to a desk for the next several hours.  Try it.  You’ll love it.

The White House

The White House

Just a note:  I’m going to start publishing excerpts of the routes that I’m running to give ideas on different routes to try.  If you have questions about running in different parts of town or the idiosyncrasies of how to connect different trails together, just leave me a comment on any post.

~ Happy Trails ~

Jessica

